Technology and manufacturing development

Primax Electronics's continuous profitability and growth are primarily attributed toits embrace of innovation. The company's focus on technology development lies in the integration of acoustics, visuals, and human-machine interfaces, known as "three-sensesin-one" product applications. In an era of constant technological advancements, Primax Electronics strives to develop key new technologies and products that sustain profitability and extend its business into every individual's living environment. In 2022 , the company investeda total of NT$ 3 , 366 million in research and development (R&D), accounting for 4 . 25 % of its operating income. Details of the R&D achievements in recent years can be found in the《Shareholders' Meeting Annual Report, Pages 98 to 100》。

In terms of production and global expansion, Primax Electronics continues to serve globalIn terms of production and global expansion, Primax Electronics continues to serve globalcustomers with the motto of "Taiwan R&D, Smart Manufacturing, and Global Logistics." The planned Zhubei Innovation Center in Taiwan is expected to include advanced laboratories,industry-academia collaboration centers, and new product manufacturing centers. Primax will continue to expand its global manufacturing footprint. In addition to its main production basein mainland China, the company will deepen production at its manufacturing base in Thailand. Furthermore, this year, Primax will invest in establishing a facility in North America to achieve regionalized customer service.

innovation 1

 


Intellectual property management

Strategies and Goals

In order to align with advanced technology tendency and protect technical achievement, we continuously engross sufficient resources in R&D and analysis for the variation of marketing and technology in relation to our products. We also formulate intellectual property policy which integrates the operation goal and R&D resources so as to reinforce the advantage in competition. In addition to integrate and upgrade the regulations for IP management, we keep strengthening the patent capability as well as the protection for non-patent R&D results to ensure that the intellectual property rights targeted are consistent with the main products and key technology of the Company. To protect the main products and key technology of the Company, we encourage colleagues to innovate and keep a watch on the products and patents of competitors so as to reinforce the patent layout and formulate the best patent strategy. We target to be the top thirty of Taiwan Patent Applications by 2030.

Our intellectual property tactics as described below:

  • Improve the intellectual property regulations
  • Upgrade the quality of patent management
  • Straighten the protection for non-patent R&D results
  • Encourage the colleagues to research and innovate
  • Reinforce the patent layout

Management of patent

For the purpose of protection of technical achievement and leading position, we not only constantly encourage our staff to file application for utility patent via the corporate innovation award, but also establish the patent management policy and risk control mechanism. In addition, the quantity and quality for patent application has been managed by means of AI analysis through the entertainment patent system. We contact and cooperate with the patent competent authority closely to raise efficiency of patent examination and acquire the high-level patent protection. We also take efficient actions to reduce patent risk. We strive to monitor the competitors of certain products and analyze relevant market and patent information.

Management of Copyright  

We promulgated Regulation of Copyright to formulate the process of acquirement, preservation and maintenance of copyright.

Protection of trade secrets

Trade secret is the technological and business operation core of the Company. The regulations with regard to trade secret have been stipulated in Regulation and Procedure of IP confidential documents, Employee Handbook and Employee Contract. We also provide our staff with the training courses to disseminate the importance and protection measures of trade secret.

Operation

The report of the implementation of intellectual property events has been submitted to the Board of Directors on Nov.8, 2023.

We have carried out the management of intellectual property rights since 1990, the details are listed as follows:

Application of patent

Primax group has filed numerous patent applications in countries since 1990.

Process management

  • In 1990: We formulated and promulgated Regulation of Patent Application.
  • In 2002: Regulation of Risk Management and Patent Usage was put into force.
  • In 2004: The Enterprise Patent System was introduced.
  • In 2021: Regulation of Copyright and Regulation of Trade Secret were put into force. In addition, the AI analyze system was introduced for data calculation to identify the valuable innovative employee.
  • In 2022:Procedure of Copyright and Procedure of Trade Secret were put into force.
  • In 2023:Procedure of patent, Regulation and Procedure of IP confidential documents were put into force.

Activation of Property

To realize Patent Monetization, we sold almost 900 patents in 2006.

Risk Control

To reduce the patent risk during the period of product development, we have carried out the management of patent search archive since 2012.

Management of trade secret

The provisions of trade secret which have been stipulated in Regulation of IP confidential documents, Employee Handbook and Employee Contract are summarized below:

  • It’s staff’s duty to maintain secrecy pertaining to his work and the company’s business.
  • Staff shall not disclose, inform, provide or transfer such Confidential Information to third party, or announce to public or make use for third party of such Confidential Information during and after the termination of employment period. We are eligible to request the staff who breaches the foregoing to compensate the damages incurred by the Company and the said staff will be punished by Section 317 of Criminal Code of the Republic of China on account of offense of disclosing trade secret knew or possessed because of occupation.
  • Staff shall not disclose or use the trade secret owned by his former employer.

Measures for dealing with the risk of intellectual property rights

We occasionally receive the notices from third parties who assert that our products may involve in the controversy of intellectual property rights. We respect and try not to infringe third parties’ intellectual property rights for all time. In view of the foregoing, we will analyze the related issues pertaining to legitimate, technical and business aspects to formulate the best tactics for resolution of the IP controversy so as to protect the Company’s and stakeholders’ interests.

Performance

As of the end of 2023, 897 patents of Primax Electronics Ltd. have been approved while 467 patents are pending in countries.

技術與製造開發

致伸科技持續獲利與成長的主要關鍵就是擁抱創新。致伸技術開發重心在於致伸科技持續獲利與成長的主要關鍵就是擁抱創新。致伸技術開發重心在於三感合一的產品應用,也就是整合聲學、視覺和人機介面,在科技不斷更迭的世代,開發出為公司持續獲利之關鍵新技與產品,將業務觸角延伸至每個人的生活環境中。2022 年投入之研發費用共計3 , 366 百萬元,佔營業收入比例4 . 25 %,近年研發成果詳如《111 年股東會年報P 98 ~P 100》。

在生產製造與全球佈局上,致伸科技持續以「臺灣研發、智慧製造、全球運籌」之宗旨服務全球顧客,其中台灣竹北創新中心預計將包括先進實驗室、產學育成中心與新產品製造中心。而在全球製造佈局上,除了中國大陸之主要生產基地外,持續深化泰國製造基地的生產,同時今年度亦將在北美投資設廠,達到區域化服務客戶的目的。

innovation 1

 


智慧財產管理

策略與目標

為因應先進科技技術的日新月異並維護得之不易的先進技術成果,本公司除持續投入研發資源及定期掌握蒐集與分析與本公司產品相關之市場與技術變化,並推動結合營運目標與研發資源之智慧財產策略,持續累積智財權能量以強化競爭優勢。本公司持續精進專利實力,在市場可觀察指標保持競爭力,除提升專利管理之品質外,整合並完善公司既有之智慧財產管理內規制度,強化未為專利化之研發保護,確保智財保護標的與公司未來主要營收產品或關鍵技術的關聯性。本公司並針對主力發展產品制訂專利策略,獎勵研發創新,密切注意同業專利情形以強化本公司在客戶市場的專利佈局,預計在2030年時達成進入本國法人專利申請百大排名前三十名之目標。

為此,本公司制定以下智慧財產政策:

  • 完善公司既有之智慧財產管理內規制度
  • 提升專利管理之品質
  • 強化未為專利化之研發成果保護
  • 獎勵研發創新
  • 強化客戶市場之智財布局

智慧財產管理計劃

專利管理

本公司為保護公司研發成果及技術領先地位,對內,公司透過獎勵創新制度,輔以評鑑流程,持續激勵員工提出發明申請;同時建立專利管理及風險控管政策及機制,透過人工智慧工具,系統化管理員工專利申請的數量與品質。對外,則與本地及國外主要市場所在地之專利主管機關密切聯繫與配合,以提升審查效率並取得高品質專利保護,並採取各項有效措施以降低專利風險。本公司並致力於特定產品的競爭者監控,以及相關市場的市場與專利分析。

著作權管理 

本公司制定著作權管理辦法及管理程序,規範著作之取得、保存及維護等流程。

營業秘密保護

營業秘密攸關公司營運及技術核心,本公司除制定智財機密文件管理辦法、智財機密文件保密作業規則對營業秘密進行管理外,並於員工守則與聘僱契約明定相關規則,以及對員工舉辦教育訓練宣導營業秘密之重要性及保護措施。

執行情形

本公司已將智慧財產相關事項提報董事會報告,最近一次提報日期為2023年11月8日。自1990年起,致伸積極推動智慧財產管理計畫,近年來主要執行情形如下:

專利申請

自1990年迄今申請多件專利申請案(含子公司)。

程序管理

  • 1990年:實施專利申請管理辦法
  • 2002年:新增風險管理及專利運用規範
  • 2004年:導入企業專利管理系統(EPS)
  • 2021年:制定著作權管理辦法及機密資訊管理辦法。導入AI工具提升分析各國資料庫數據能力,輔助辨識高品質專利與創新人員
  • 2022年:制定機密資料及著作權管理程序

  • 2023年:完善既有之智慧財產管理內規制度,修/制定專利管理程序、智財機密文件管理辦法、智財機密文件保密作業規則

資產活化

2006年出售約900件專利,實現無形資產貨幣化效益。

風險控管

自2012年起進行專利調查資料編檔控管,確實執行產品開發期間之專利風險排除。

營業祕密管理

本公司於智財機密文件管理辦法及員工守則與聘僱契約規定節錄如下:

  •    員工有保守個人經辦業務及公司業務機密之義務
  •    員工在職期間及離職後,均不得洩漏任何業務機密,否則公司除有權免職外,並具有法律追溯賠償公司損失及刑事責任之權利。
  •    受雇本公司員工,亦不得洩漏或使用前雇主所有之營業秘密。

智財相關之風險應對措施

本公司偶而會接獲第三方或客戶通知,主張本公司之產品或有智慧財產權爭議情事。本公司一向秉持尊重他人著作財產權,敵不犯我、我不犯人之原則,於處理該等爭議時,分析法律、商業及技術各層面擬定因應策略,以保護公司及利害關係人權益。

取得智財清單與成果

截至2023年底,本公司專利案已核准897件,申請中之專利案則有467件。